RSS Feed

Pig for dinner!

20130107-190052.jpg

Back to work for real today! I did work on Saturday morning, but today really felt like the first day of proper work! I had to go a little easy on my clients as most of them hadn’t exercised since before Christmas. Together we brushed away the cobwebs, so to speak!

Last night’s dinner was a success. I bought some marinated artichoke hearts and sunblush tomatoes in EVOO at the farmers market to make a Mediterranean inspired stuffing for a pork tenderloin I had in the fridge. It was very quick and simple to make, but very tasty. I served it with steamed broccoli tossed with a little grass-fed butter and turnip gratin dauphinoise, which I’ll also give the recipe for.
First for the pork…

Ingredients:
1 pork tenderloin fillet (I think mine was around 500g)
2 marinated artichoke hearts
100g sunblush tomatoes in olive oil (don’t get the ones in sunflower oil)
A handful of pine nuts
1 clove garlic
1 bunch of sage, leaves removed and stalks discarded
3-4 sprigs of thyme (leaves removed, stalks discarded)
Sea salt and pepper

Butterfly the pork fillet and place on a sheet of foil. Season with salt and pepper.
Blitz all other ingredients in a food processor. Spread the stuffing mixture on the flat surface of the butterflied pork.
Carefully roll up the fillet in the foil, making sure all the stuffing doesn’t squeeze out, into a long cylinder.
Place on a baking tray (as it WILL leak all over your oven otherwise) and bake for 45 mins at 180C

Turnip Gratin Dauphinoise

20130107-185619.jpg

Ingredients
4 turnips, washed and trimmed (you can peel them if you like, but I couldn’t be bothered!)
100-150ml single cream
A handful grated Gruyere cheese
Sea salt and pepper

Finely slice the turnips – I used a mandolin for this as my knife skills are somewhat lacking. Layer into a baking dish, occasionally seasoning with salt as you go.
Pour the cream over the turnips until they are just about covered (the amount of cream is more dependent on the amount of turnip in the dish, so don’t get too stressed about measurements).
Sprinkle the cheese over the top and finally give it a good grind of black pepper.
Bake for 30-40 mins at 180C or until the cheese is lightly browned and bubbling, the cream has thickened and the turnips are tender. Yum!

About Gorgeously Grain-Free

I love food. I live to eat. Some may say I'm obsessed with food. However I want to feel and look good. Since I gave up grains and sugar and adopted a 'primal', whole foods diet, I have never felt (or looked) better!

2 responses »

  1. This looks fantastic, great work!

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on cupcake went paleo. and commented:
    Something to try! Thanks, Gorgeously Grain-Free!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

